The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced the winners of the 2019 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards honoring outstanding achievement in broadcast and digital journalism, technical expertise and adherence to RTDNA’s Code of Ethics. A record 4,600 entries were submitted nationwide for this year’s competition. From this group, more than 720 regional winners were selected for breaking news, continuing coverage, investigative reporting, Overall Excellence and more.

“Public trust in journalism is threatened by a lack of understanding about the reporting process,” said RTDNA Chairman Jerry Walsh. “The Edward R. Murrow Awards are an opportunity for our industry to showcase what well trained, ethical local journalists are doing to better our communities on behalf of the public. We invite viewers and readers to learn more about the reporting process behind each of these stories, and to know this same process is happening every single day in preparation for every single newscast.”

Michigan was grouped with Illinois, Indiana and Ohio in Region 7.  Receiving recognition were the following Michigan broadcasters:


Small Market Radio

Category: Feature Reporting
Winning Entry: Put That in Your Pipe and Smoke It: Up Pipe Maker Among World’s Best
Interlochen Public Radio (Interlochen)

Category: News Series
Winning Entry: Making the Grade in Michigan 2018
WKAR-AM/FM (East Lansing)

Large Market Radio

Category:  Continuing Coverage
Winning Entry: Larry Nassar Case
Michigan Radio (Ann Arbor)

Category: Excellence in Sound
Winning Entry: Mornings in Michigan: The Early Birder Gets the Warblers, Chickadees, and Orioles
Michigan Radio (Ann Arbor)

Category: Feature Reporting
Winning Entry: Mariachi Group Brings Women to the Front of the Stage
Michigan Radio (Ann Arbor)

Category: Hard News
Winning Entry: Protesters Heading Home After Journey to Detention Center Housing Juvenile Migrants
Michigan Radio (Ann Arbor)

Category: Investigative Reporting
Winning Entry: Romulus Blames High Lead Levels on One Vacant Home That’s Not Vacant
Michigan Radio (Ann Arbor)[/one-half-first]

Small Market Television

Category: Excellence in Innovation
Winning Entry: Marijuana Series
WLNS-TV (Lansing)

Category: Feature Reporting
Winning Entry: A Simple Act of Kindness
WJRT-TV (Flint)

Category: Hard News
Winning Entry: Born in to Crisis: Part 3
WJRT-TV (Flint)

Large Market Television

Category: Excellence in Social Media
Winning Entry: Social Media
WDIV-TV (Detroit)

Category: Excellence in Sound
Winning Entry: Criss-Cross Crash
WDIV-TV (Detroit)[/one-half]

[vertical-spacer]This year’s winners were judged in 14 regions and represent 309 local radio and TV newsrooms. These winners will move on to the national round of judging, which also includes digital and network news organizations as well as student awards. The national awards will be presented at RTDNA’s Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York on Oct. 14, 2019.

See the complete list of regional winners here.

image_printPrint This Article