Geary Morrill

After a month-long ballot process with its members, Saginaw-based Alpha Media Regional Director of Engineering Geary Morrill has been elected to a 2-year term on the Society of Broadcast Engineers (SBE) Board of Directors.  The results were announced on August 29.  Morrill is a long-time member of SBE Chapter 91 in Central Michigan. He will be sworn in at the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association’s Broadcast Clinic in Madison this October.

Wayne Pecena has been chosen as the next president of the SBE, replacing Jim Leifer, who becomes the immediate past president.  Pecena will serve a one-year term as the society’s President.  Pecena, a member of SBE’s Chapter 99 in College Station, Texas, is the assistant director of educational broadcast services at Texas A&M University, where he also serves as the director of engineering for public broadcast stations KAMU FM/TV.

Three other officers were elected to one-year terms: Andrea Cummis (Chapter 15, New York; Roseland, N.J.) was voted Vice-President; Kevin Trueblood (Chapter 90, Southwest, Fla.; Ft. Myers, Fla.) will become the Secretary; and Ted Hand (Chapter 45, Charlotte, N.C.) was voted as Treasurer.

Others elected to 2-year terms on the Board of Directors are Mark Fehlig (Chapter 40 San Francisco); Charles Keiler (Chapter 53 South Florida); Jason Ornellas (Chapter 43 Sacramento, Calif.); Chris Tarr (Chapter 28 Milwaukee); and Dan Whealy (Chapter 96 Rockford, IL).  Those elected will begin their terms on October 16.