Three Michigan broadcasters have been honored with a National Edward R. Murrow Award from the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).  The awards were announced on Tuesday.

Michigan Radio’s Mornings in Michigan series received a Murrow Award.  The series installment entitled, “The Early Birder Gets the Warblers, Chickadees, and Orioles,” was given the honor for Excellence in Sound in the Large Market Radio category. Winners in the Excellence in Sound category demonstrate creative use of sound to tell a story.

The feature was written and produced by Rebecca Williams and edited by Doug Tribou, with help from Lauren Talley. In the piece, which originally aired in May, 2018, Williams followed a group of birders on an early morning hike to see migrating birds arriving in Michigan. The story captured the sounds of warblers, buntings, orioles and sparrows, and the excited birders as they spotted their favorite species. You can listen to the story here. Companion images to the feature were provided by Michigan Radio’s Emma Winowicki.

Gray Television’s WJRT-TV (Flint) received a national Murrow Award for the third installment of the station’s annual Born Into Crisis series.

The February 2018 story, which looks at children born during the water crisis and how they are developing compared to their peers, won the national Edward R. Murrow Award in the Hard News category this year.

Anchor Angie Hendershot reported the story while Photographer Timothy Robertson captured the video that accompanies it.

Graham Media Group’s WDIV-TV (Detroit) received a national Murrow Award for Criss-Cross Crash, coverage of figure-eight racing with school buses and boats at the Flat Rock Speedway — “Criss-Cross Crash” — won the “Excellence in Sound” award for large market television.

Criss-Cross Crash was produced by WDIV photojournalists Alex Atwell and Hans Ihlenfeldt.  You may see the story here.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.  Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.

“These winning pieces from news organizations large and small have educated, uplifted, inspired, uncovered and enlightened,” said Dan Shelley, RTDNA Executive Director. “We’re proud to recognize the most outstanding ways journalists are keeping the public informed, holding the powerful accountable and enhancing the quality of life in their communities.”