Patrick Communications


  • WFAT Adds the Rumble Bees!

    Midwest Communication’s WFAT-AM/FM Translator combo (Battle Creek) has announced that it will be the radio home of the city’s new hockey team, the Battle Creek Rumble Bees, airing all the the team’s live play-by-play broadcasts. Rumble Bees General Manager Adam Stio expressed much elation with the hockey club’s partnership with Midwest Communications. “To have the… read more

  • WDVD Raises over $60,000 for Detroit Dog Rescue

    On October 4, Cumulus Media’s WDVD-FM (Detroit) held its second annual Radiothon for Detroit Dog Rescue (DDR), Detroit’s only no-kill dog foster and adoption shelter.  A total of $61,668 was raised. The Blaine Fowler Morning Show, along with the entire 96.3 WDVD air staff, were broadcasting live from the Orchard Mall.  Money raised was to… read more

  • WKAR Bids Farewell To Digital News Director Reginald Hardwick

    WKAR Public Media (East Lansing) has announced that Digital News Director Reginald Hardwick has left the station to become Director of News and Public Affairs at Illinois Public Media. Since joining WKAR in March 2017, the radio news team has won a regional Edward R Murrow award for education reporting (2018) and a national award… read more

  • WCSY-FM Begins Project Personal Care

    This week, October 10-12, Midwest Family Broadcasting’s WCSY-FM (South Haven-Benton Harbor-Saint Joseph) is holding its annual Project Personal Care, a drive to collect items for those in need, but not the usual canned goods. Operations Director Paul Layendecker says about the drive, “Things that we take for granted are what we’re collecting: Toilet paper, paper… read more

  • Larry Patrick Appointed to NAB Radio Board

    Larry Patrick, managing partner of both Legend Communications and Patrick Communications, has been appointed to the NAB Radio Board of Directors by Radio Board Chair Dave Santrella in accordance with NAB by-laws, effective immediately. Legend Communications operates 24 small-market radio stations in Wyoming. Larry Patrick is also a founder and investor in NRJ TV, which… read more

  • Immaculate Heart Buys Baraga Broadcasting Stations

    RadioInsight reports that Immaculate Heart Media has agreed to purchase Baraga Broadcasting’s five stations in Northern Michigan for $345,000. The “Baraga Radio” network of WTCY-FM (Greilickville), WGZE-FM (Alpena), WTCK-FM (Charlevoix), WGJU-FM (East Tawas), WIDG-AM (St. Ignace) and FM Translator W221CA (Gaylord) will join Immaculate Heart’s “Relevant Radio” network upon closing. They will also assume the… read more

  • Entercom’s WOMC Raises Nearly $180k with “Turn Up the Miracles” Radiothon

    On October 10, WOMC-FM (Detroit) held its annual “Turn Up The Miracles” Radiothon to benefit Children’s Miracle Hospital and raised a total of $178,886.00! The 13-hour broadcast from the South Tower Concourse of Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak was anchored by station personalities Stephen Clark, JoAnne Purtan, Jim Johnson and Beau Daniels, joined by special… read more

  • WOLV-FM Helps Pack the Theatre for Omega House Fundraiser

    By: Kevin Ericson, Operations Director, Houghton Community Broadcasting A full house grooved to Paul McCartney’s biggest hits at the Calumet Theatre this past weekend to raise money for hospice services and 97.7, The Wolf (WOLV-FM/Houghton), led a three-month push to make sure every seat was sold. It’s the second time the Omega House has brought… read more

  • Another $15,000 Fine Proposed for Missing Issues Programs Lists – And a Fine for a Late-Filed Renewal

    By: David Oxenford, Wilkinson Barker Knauer LLP A pattern is being established – $15,000 and a short-term, 2-year license renewal seem to have become the standard penalty for stations that are missing all of their Quarterly Issues Programs Lists for a license renewal term. On October 8, the FCC’s Media Bureau issued a proposed fine to… read more

  • Bill Thompson to Speak at Ferris

    Veteran Michigan broadcaster Bill Thompson, who released a book of his memoirs early this summer “My Life as a Great Lakes Broadcaster” will be speaking at Ferris State University on October 17 at 11 a.m. in UCB 211.  Thompson is a Ferris Sports Leadership Institute Advisory Board member. In the book, Thompson shares stories and… read more

  • DPTV Welcomes Fulcrum to Detroit

    Detroit Public TV , along with the Ford Foundation are bringing Fulcrum to Detroit, November 13-14.  The conference is designed to prepare people today for where work is going tomorrow. The conference will be held at Wayne State University; register here and use the deep-discount code, “DPTV” You know the world of work is changing… read more

  • 14 Things Radio Broadcasters Should Pay Attention to When Creating Videos

    By: Seth Resler, Jacobs Media Strategies These days, every media outlet is a multi-media outlet. Sure, your radio station personalities may be focused primarily on audio content, but in the social media age, people want to see them on video, too. While technological improvements have made it increasingly easy and affordable to post video online,… read more

  • More News



October 17, 2019
1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

“Scarce Talent: Recruiting
and Hiring Better Salespeople”
with Chris Lytle

The MAB Foundation prepares students for media careers!
Your future employees!