MAB Foundation Scholarship Program

The MABF awards scholarships to Universities, Colleges, and Trade schools in Michigan that have an approved broadcast related program. Schools receiving scholarships include: 

  • Adrian College
  • Central Michigan University
  • Delta College
  • Eastern Michigan University
  • Ferris State University
  • Grand Valley State University
  • Henry Ford College
  • Hope College
  • Lansing Community College
  • Michigan State University
  • Michigan Technological University
  • Northern Michigan University
  • Oakland University
  • Specs Howard School of Media Arts
  • Spring Arbor University
  • University of Michigan
  • Wayne State University
  • Western Michigan University

Once the schools are chosen to receive the scholarships, each school's broadcasting department faculty choose one deserving student from their program. The student must be enrolled in a broadcasting related program and be recommended by their faculty. The scholarships are good toward tuition and fees only. Students are strongly recommended to complete an internship with a member station during the year that they receive their scholarship. 

Named scholarships via the MAB Foundation Founders Club, in addition to MABF General Scholarships, include: 

  • The Carl E. Lee Scholarship
  • The Charles D. Fritz Scholarship
  • WBKP-TV/WBUP-TV/WBKB-TV/WOLV-FM/WCCY-AM/WHKB-FM and The Marks Foundation, Inc. Scholarship (2)
  • Nancy Waters and Mark Waters Scholarship
  • Dr. Peter Orlik Broadcasting Scholarship (via Larry Patrick) (4)
  • The Charles D. Mefford Scholarship
  • The Jerry P. Colvin Scholarship
  • The Gary A. Reid Scholarship
  • The James H. Quello Scholarship (via Karole White)
  • Leicinger-Biederman Scholarship (via Ross Biederman)
  • Alan W. Frank Scholarship
  • Friends of Bill Burton Scholarship

Each scholarship award is $1,000. For more information about these programs, please contact the MAB Foundation office at or 517-484-7444.